I keep finding new dreams…..

B”H

There was a time that I thought I had no more dreams left. Hashem has blessed me beyond what I deserve. It has all ” just fallen into place” – I got remarried to the love of my life, I found a job that I loved and had more children come into my life.

Then, I made Aliyah,  landed in Maaleh Adumim,  found a chevrah that I love. The most amazing part is I have been so blessed to be a part of more than a few labor and deliveries in Jerusalem which touch me in the deepest part of my soul. I told everyone who would listen before I made Aliyah that my goal in life was “to deliver Jewish babies in Israel”.

I am at an age when more people are starting to think about retirement and counting the days until they can stop their jobs. I am on the opposite end of the spectrum. I feel like I am just getting started. I feel so energized and ready to take on the world. The Lubavitcher Rebbe had a philosophy precluding “retirement” and demanding always more from himself and others. It is only fitting that I am planning on not ever retiring- it isn’t even a concept!

In the past year, I have attended Seminary at Malchus, an English language program for women with a desire to learn Chassiduit, Tehillim, Tefillah and Sichot of the Lubavitcher Rebbe. I go at least 3 days a week into Geula, in Jerusalem, and I am always a bit sad when I finish my week of learning. My mashpia/mentor tells me that I should be teaching and so my dream is to provide “Mommie and Me Torah Tots”. It is a dream.

I volunteered to join the Mishmar Ezrachi /Citizen’s Patrol for Maaleh Adumim.  I can’t talk about it but, it is awesome! I have always respected the Police. My father z’tl used to raise German Shephards for the Massachusetts State Police and took me along many times for the canine training. I joined to help my community and to gain some skills and language .  I dream of being able to work with the domestic violence team. As a Rebbitzen I was exposed to it far too often. I want to help if I can. It is my dream.

I went to a discussion on Mikveh and a big light went on over my head. As I listened to the women talk about feeling more positive towards Mikveh when they had a good kallah teacher I knew I had to reclaim this piece of my old life. I remember my days as a Rabbanit teaching new brides and sitting down with perfect strangers and talking about the most intimate subjects. I thought- if not me – then who? If not now- then when? This week coincidentally  I contacted  Rebbitzen Tehillah Abramov and  several other organizations looking for a Kalleh teacher training class….there are no coincidences….

I have been slowly working my way through my Childbirth Education syllabus and this seems like the most logical connection. So you see, Hashem once again revealed to me what direction I should be moving in. I have exciting dreams and vital goals to look forward to accomplishing. So far all of my dreams have come to fruition- maybe not the way I thought they should have, but always how it was meant to be.  I accept that.

So those are my dreams- what are yours?

2 Comments

  1. Pingback: Jenny Sassoon to My Rescue « A Settler's Dream: My Life in Israel

Leave a Reply

